HOME >> News & Events

V. P. ShenWenqing Visits U.S. and Canada

NSFC Vice President ShenWenqing led a NSFC Mathematical and Physical Sciences Delegation and paid visit to the U.S. and Canada during June 1-10, 2011.

During the stay in the U.S., the delegation visited the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF) and the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) respectively, with aim to exchange views on possible mechanisms for enhancing future bilateral cooperation in mutually interested fields such as mathematical sciences, astronomy and high energy physics, etc. Ms. Machi Dilworth, Head of NSF Office of International Science and Engineering (OISE), and Dr. Celeste M. Rohlfing, Deputy Assistant Director of NSF Directorate for Mathematical and Physical Sciences (MPS) met with the delegation. Participants in the meeting also include 9 MPS division directors and program directors. Both sides presented a brief wrap-up of the experience and achievements in recent bilateral cooperation in jointly funding collaborative research projects in the fields of mathematical sciences, physical sciences, astronomy, chemical sciences and materials sciences, and shared ideas in furtherance of future substantial collaboration in those areas.

During the visit to DOE, the delegation met with Dr. William Brinkman, Director of DOE Office of Science, and Dr. Tim Hallman, Associate Director DOE Office of Nuclear Physics and shared with each other the latest development of both agencies, including new strategies for development, annual budget, priority funding areas, etc. Agreement was also reached between both sides to establish formal partnership between NSFC and DOE by signing a cooperation agreement in the future, which will facilitate the collaboration between U.S. and China based scientists in research areas of common interest. The meeting between the NSFC delegation and DOE representatives marks a positive progress in broadening the channel of cooperation between DOE and NSFC.

The delegation also paid visits to several research institutions including the Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL), the National Observatory in Big Island, Hawaii, and TRIUMF, Canada's National Laboratory for Particle and Nuclear Physics, in order to get first hand information of the latest advancements in relevant research fields.

Other delegates are Mr. Ji Peiwen, Mr. Zhang Shouzhu from NSFC’s Dept. of Mathematical and Physical Sciences, and Mr. Zou Liyao, Mr. Wei Qin from the Bureau of International Cooperation.

Copyright 2007 Bureau of International Cooperation, NSFC